FIDE CHESS PROFILE

Valentina Gunina

Federation
Russia
B-Year
1989
Sex
Female
standart
rapid
blitz
2506
2491
2491

Rating Progress Chart

Biography

Valentina Gunina is a three-time Russian women's champion (2011, 2013, 2014), a three-time European women's champion (2012, 2014, 2018), a three-time winner of the World Chess Olympid [...]

Title registered by President

Title
Event
----
----
FIDE title
Woman Grandmaster

World Rank

World (all players):
913
World (active players):
754
Female (active players):
13

National Rank RUS

National (all players):
153
National (active players):
113
Female (active players):
4

Continent Rank Europe

Rank (all players):
658
Rank (active players):
558
Female (active players):
8

FIDE Titles (year)

Grandmaster (GM)
2013
International Master (IM)
2011
Woman Grandmaster (WGM)
2010

FIDE Title Applications

Title
Status
Grandmaster
YES
FIDE PB / Congress
2nd quarter Presidential Board Meeting 2013, 4-7 May, Baku, AZE

Individual Calculations

Standart
June 2019
None
May 2019
April 2019
None
Rapid
May 2019
None
April 2019
March 2019
None
None
Blitz
May 2019
None
April 2019
March 2019
None
None
Russia, rating 2506
Valentina Gunina
Valentina Gunina is a three-time Russian women's champion (2011, 2013, 2014), a three-time European women's champion (2012, 2014, 2018), a three-time winner of the World Chess Olympid as a member of the Russian national women's team (2010, 2012, 2014).

Valentina was born on February 4, 1989, in Murmansk, one of Russia's largest ports, located in the northwest of the country, the world's biggest city beyond the Arctic Circle. Despite being remote from chess centers, Valentina came into the spotlight very early – she repeatedly won the Russian, European, and world youth championships.

In 2009, Gunina vigorously broke into the professional chess: she took the third place in the Superfinal of the Russian Women's Championship and won the European Championship as a member of the Russian national team. Valentina became a woman grandmaster in 2010 and a grandmaster in 2013.

Valentina Gunina is a three-time Russian women's champion (2011, 2013, 2014) and a first three-time European women's champion in history (2012, 2014, 2018). She won three World Chess Olympiads (2010, 2012 and 2014), the world championship (2017), and four European championships (2009, 2011, 2015, 2017) as a member of the Russian national team. She won gold medals at the 2014 and 2016 Olympiads for the best result on the second board.

Valentina is famous for her ability to play rapid and blitz chess. She became both world and European blitz champion in 2012. And in December 2016, Gunina sensationally won a major rapid chess tournament in London, leaving about fifty grandmasters behind. Valentina scored 9/10, performing above 2800.

The beginning of 2019 was successful for Valentina Gunina – she won the first women's super tournament in Saint Louis - the Cairns Cup. She scored 7/9, leaving Alexandra Kosteniuk, Irina Krush, Nana Dzagnidze and other leading grandmasters behind.
FIDE © 2019 All Right Reserved.

FIDE CHESS PROFILE

Валентина Гунина

Federation
Russia
B-Year
1989
Sex
Female
standard
rapid
blitz
2506
2491
2491

Rating Progress Chart

Биография

Валентина Гунина – трехкратная чемпионка России (2011, 2013, 2014), трехкратная чемпионка Европы (2012, 2014, 2018). [...]

Title registered by President

Title
Event
----
----
FIDE title
Woman Grandmaster

World Rank

World (all players):
913
World (active players):
754
Female (active players):
13

National Rank RUS

National (all players):
153
National (active players):
113
Female (active players):
4

Continent Rank Europe

Rank (all players):
658
Rank (active players):
558
Female (active players):
8

FIDE Titles (year)

Grandmaster (GM)
2013
International Master (IM)
2011
Woman Grandmaster (WGM)
2010

FIDE Title Applications

Title
Status
Grandmaster
YES
FIDE PB / Congress
2nd quarter Presidential Board Meeting 2013, 4-7 May, Baku, AZE

Individual Calculations

Standart
June 2019
None
May 2019
April 2019
None
Rapid
May 2019
None
April 2019
March 2019
None
None
Blitz
May 2019
None
April 2019
March 2019
None
None
Россия, рейтинг 2506
Валентина Гунина
Валентина Гунина – трехкратная чемпионка России (2011, 2013, 2014), трехкратная чемпионка Европы (2012, 2014, 2018), трехкратная победительница Всемирной шахматной Олимпиады в составе сборной России (2010, 2012, 2014).

Валентина родилась 4 февраля 1989 года в Мурманске: один из крупнейших портов России, расположенный на северо-западе страны, является самым большим в мире городом за Северным полярным кругом. Несмотря на удаленность от шахматных центров, Валя очень быстро заявила о себе – она неоднократно становилась победительницей юношеских чемпионатов России, Европы и мира.

В 2009 году Гунина решительно заявляет о себе во взрослых шахматах: занимает третье место в Суперфинале чемпионата России, а в составе сборной страны побеждает на чемпионате Европы. В 2010 году Валентина становится гроссмейстером среди женщин, а в 2013 году – и среди мужчин.

Валентина Гунина – трехкратная чемпионка России (2011, 2013, 2014) и первая в истории трехкратная чемпионка Европы (2012, 2014, 2018). В составе сборной России – победительница трех Олимпиад (2010, 2012 и 2014), чемпионата мира (2017) и четырех чемпионатов Европы (2009, 2011, 2015, 2017). На Олимпиадах 2014 и 2016 годов завоевала золотую медаль за лучший результат на второй доске.

Валентина славится своим умением играть рапид и блиц. Так, в 2012 году она стала и чемпионкой мира, и чемпионкой Европы по молниеносной игре. А в декабре 2016 года Гунина сенсационно выиграла крупный рапид-турнир в Лондоне, опередив полсотни мужских гроссмейстеров. Валентина набрала 9 очков из 10, показав перфоманс свыше 2800.

Валентина Гунина удачно начала 2019 год – выиграла первый женский супертурнир в Сент-Луисе на Кубок Кэрнс. Она набрала 7 очков из 9, в острой борьбе опередив Александру Костенюк, Ирину Круш, Нану Дзагнидзе и других ведущих гроссмейстеров.